Champion’s Promenade: The Golden Foot Awards 2016

The attention of the footballing world turned to Monaco on Monday 10th & Tuesday 11th October 2016, as the recipient of the coveted Golden Foot award was announced after great anticipation. Since 2003, the Golden Foot awards have celebrated footballing legends and current world greats, as voted by the world’s press and the general public. Footballing legends win the the chance to have their footprints moulded on a golden plaque and placed on the Champion’s Promenade, surrounded by some of the most luxurious real estate in the world, in Monaco for generations to come.

Each year, 3-6 legends are presented with a Golden Foot Legends award. These are chosen by the media and press. Previous recipients of the legends award include Eric Cantona, Pele, Luis Figo, Franz Beckenbauer and Diego Maradona, to name but a few. Most excitement builds around the main Golden Foot award, however, which is selected by the public out of 10 nominees – each of whom must be at least 28 years of age and still playing professional football. Previous winners of the Golden Foot award include Samuel Eto’o, Andres Iniesta, Didier Drogba, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Ryan Giggs, Franscesco Totti, Ronaldinho, Roberto Carlos, Alessandro Del Piero, Ronaldo, Andriy Schevchenko, Pavel Nedved and Roberto Baggio.

The announcement of the Golden Foot’s recipient, and the award’s presentation, was made at the glamorous Monaco Yacht Club on Tuesday 11th October 2016. In front of a crowd that comprised international sports press, friends and family of honourees, and distinguished guests, H.R.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco presented the awards to the winners, before they made casts of their feet (later to be turned into golden plaques). The audience was also treated to video compilations of the footballers career highlights.

In 2016, 5 footballing greats were honoured with Golden Foot Legends awards:

  • Anderson Luis de Souza (Deco) – Portugal
  • Carles Puyol – Spain
  • Didier Deschamps – France
  • Frank de Boer – Netherlands
  • Claudio Ranieri – Italy

The 10 nominees for the 2016 Golden Foot Award were:

  • Frank Lampard – England
  • Gianluigi Buffon – Italy
  • Lionel Messi – Argentina
  • Christiano Ronaldo – Portugal
  • Wayne Rooney – England
  • Andrea Pirlo – Italy
  • Ricardo Kaka – Brazil
  • Edinson Cavani – Uruguay
  • Iker Casillas – Spain
  • Thiago Silva – Brazil

With such a selection of famous sporting names in the Golden Foot category, it was a hotly contested competition, yet hosts Martina Colombari and Pierluigi Pardo announced the winner of the Golden Foot award 2016 as Gianluigi Buffon.

The much-loved goalkeeper has spent most of his long career playing for Juventus and Italy, and is the 4th Italian to receive the award.

Monaco is a lively place to live, with many events and attractions. If you’d like to find out more about living in the Principality of Monaco, please contact a member of the La Costa Properties team.

Stay updated with our news